PDA

View Full Version : iBeam --- better yet iBeam with imix and M1



jwaters100
01-11-2012, 07:35 PM
Been doing a bit of research and I wondering given my situation - I'm a singer/songwriter who gigs on a fairly regular basis as a solo performer and once in a while I also have a band behind me. I have a 1974 Guild D44 - now it seems as if the iBeam (passive) would be better suited for solo acoustic performances given that it is prone to heaviness and boom at higher volumes (cited from another thread) but I don't want to limit my guitar's capabilities. Ive heard the M1 and I feel it looses a bit of the warmth and intimacy found in the iBeam (passive), yet given a live band situation would it be ok to use iBeam or is better to do a combo of iBeam with imix and M1? - similar to what Tom Petty uses.

Lastly if I were to use the combo iBeam with iMix and M1 would I have to change my acoustic guitar strings to a lighter guage - I currently use D'addario Phospher Bronze guage 12 and I'm quite pleased with the sound I get out of my guitar with them

Thanks!

Bryan McManus
01-12-2012, 10:08 AM
The iMIX/M1/iBeam is a great combo because both sources are body-sensitive. Even if you're in a situation where you can't squeeze much iBeam into the mix, you can still have a fuller and richer sound than if you had the Element in there instead of the M1, since the Element is a bit more string and less body.

You will not need to change your string choice as the M1 is designed to be compatible with phosphor bronze or 80/20 composition strings. 12's are widely used an no problem for the M1.

Keep an eye - or more importantly, an ear - out for our up-coming M80 pickup. It's likely to revolutionize what can be expected from a magnetic sound-hole pickup.

basske
01-29-2013, 04:55 AM
I have a M1active.
Now I use Elixir 80/20 but i want try the Phosphor Bronze.
Must I change the hight of the poles?

Caleb_Elling
01-30-2013, 08:45 AM
basske,
If you haven't changed out any of the poles yet, the Phosphor Bronze strings won't require it.